The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Sunday, May 11, 2008

US college golf season over

for Roseanne Niven

Roseanne Niven (University of California-Berkeley) will be heading home to Scotland after her college failed to qualify for the NCAA championships at Albuquerque, New Mexico from May 20 to 23.
Roseanne from Crieff, a former Scottish girls champion, finished 85th in a field of 108 at the NCAA Division 1 women's West Regional championship at Lincoln Hills Golf Club, Sacramento in California at the weekend.
California-Berkeley failed to make the top eight teams who qualified for the grand final later this month, which climaxes the US college golf season. They finished in 12th place in a field of 21 teams.
Alison Walshe (Arizona), the Irish-born girl who will play for the United States in the Curtis Cup match over the Old Course at the end of the month, tied for individual honours on six-under-par 210 with Therese Koelbaek (UNLV) from Denmark.
Underlining the international dimensions of the US college circuits, Austrian Stefanie Endstrasser (Southern California) tied with Spaniard Azahara Munoz (Arizona State) for third place, only one shot behind.
Stacy Lewis (Arkansas), No 2 to Amanda Blumenherst in the US Curtis Cup team for St Andrews, had been expected to win the individual title but she finished seven shots off the pace on 217, four ahead of Sweden's Anna Nordqvist (Arizona State), beaten finalist in last year's British women's open amateur championship at Leeds but still to lodge an entry for next months' "British" at North Berwick.
England's Hannah Bews (Portland State) finished joint 56th on 228.

Par 216 (3 x 72). 6338yd
210 Therese Koelbaek (UNLV) 69 68 73, Alison Walshe (Arizona) 68 73 69.
211 Stefanie Endstrasser (Southern California) 71 71 69, Azahara Munoz (Arizona State) 69 71 71.
Other scores:
214 Dewi-Claire Schreefel (Southern California) 71 70 73.
216 Belen Mozo (Southern California) 73 73 70.
217 Stacy Lewis (Arkansas) 69 76 72.
221 Anna Nordqvist (Arizona State) 77 70 74.
228 Hannah Bews (Portland State) 76 75 77 (jt 56th).
233 Roseanne Niven (California) 82 74 77 (85th.
Teams who qualified.
855 Southern California. 870 Arizona State. 879 UNLV. 880 Arizona. 882 Oklahoma State, Arkansas. 884 Tulsa. 892 UC Davis (beat Ohio State and Stanford in play-off for eighth place).