Monday, April 26, 2010

Maguire twins help Loreto College Cavan complete

title hat-trick in Irish Schools Senior Cup

Loreto College Cavan's teenage stars Leona and Lisa Maguire and Co Cavan’s Rebecca Brady secured their third consecutive Irish Schools Senior Cup title, just moments after the twins were named on the GB&I Curtis Cup team, at Milltown Golf Club today.
With two scores to count from three, Loreto Cavan won the event by a margin of 27 Stableford points from Dublin's The Teresian School. The twins had just returned home late on Sunday evening from Scotland, following their joint sixth place finish, four shots behind winner Danielle McVeigh (Royal Co. Down Ladies), at the Helen Holm Scottish women's open amateur stroke-play championship at Troon Portland and Royal Troon.
Their impressive play earned them selection on this year’s Curtis Cup team alongside Danielle with Donabate legend Mary McKenna captaining the side.
“We’re delighted to have captured a third title” said Lisa afterwards. “We love playing in the Schools Championships and the condition of the greens here at Milltown far exceeded any course we have played in quite some time.”
Speaking at the Presentation of Prizes, Minister for Tourism, Culture and Sport Mary Hanafin TD commended the twins on their Curtis Cup selection and encouraged all schoolgirls to take up the game as it was a sport to be enjoyed for the rest of their lives.
Leona fired a best-of-the-day, one-under-par 37 points to win the Mary Nolan Cup with birdies at 1, 5, 9 and 17 while bogeys on 4, 7 and 13 prevented the perfect round.
Meanwhile sister Lisa birdied 1, 3, 14, 17 and 18 to sign for a level par 36 points.
Laurel Hill Coláiste, Limerick, emerged victorious in the Junior Cup with Chloe Ryan (Castletroy) returning a fine two over par 34 points off seven of a handicap while Scoil Christ Rí finished second, 7 points behind.
Other players returning impressive net scores were Shanen Brown and Mary Doyle (Scoil Christ Rí) with 42 points, while Amber Gleeson (Alexandra College) signed for 41 pts and Eimear Ryan (Laurel Hill Coláiste) returned 40 pts.
Senior Cup (2 from 3 scores to count)
73 pts Loreto College, Cavan – Rebecca Brady (13), Leona Maguire (37), Lisa Maguire (36)46 pts The Teresian School, Dublin - Ariana Coyle Diaz (22), Rachel McDonnell (10), Lauren Murray (24)
45 pts Sligo Grammar – Shauna Brady (17), Megan O’Hara (16), Holly Robinson (28).
43 pts Midleton College, Cork - Edel Coyne (17), Julie Coyne (26).
29 pts Coláiste Bríde, Enniscorthy – Nancy Dunphy (12), Raidin Murphy (17).
Best gross (Mary Nolan Cup):
37 pts Leona Maguire (Loreto College, Cavan).
Best net:
33pts Holly Robinson (Sligo Grammar)
Junior Cup (2 from 3 scores to count)
51 pts Laurel Hill Coláiste, Limerick – Anne Marie Byrne (17), Chloe Ryan (34), eimear Ryan (12)
44 pts Scoil Christ Rí, Portlaoise – Shannen Browne (23), Mary Doyle (21)
42 pts Alexandra College, Dublin – Darcey Carr (14), Aideen Cowhey (7), Amber Gleeson (28).
35 pts Victoria College, Belfast - Jessica Bamber (8), Jemma Hool (15), Tyne McGee [20]31 pts Mean Scoil Mhuire, Roscommon - Blaithin O'Brien (17), Orla Quinn (8), April Timothy (14).
Best Gross Individual:
28pts Amber Gleeson (Alexandra College).
Best Net Individual:
36pts Tyne McGee (Victoria College Belfast)