The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Monday, April 21, 2008

Futures Tour officials saves Pamela
Feggans from costly mistake

There are plenty of double greens in Scotland, particularly at St. Andrews, so Pamela Feggans of Patna, Ayrshire, thought she knew what to do when her approach shot to the ninth green came to rest on the 18th green at The Wetlands during the first round of the Louisiana Pelican Classic last Friday.
Fortunately, Duramed Futures Tour rules official Kelly Wergin hustled over to the ninth green and stopped Feggans before she attempted to putt.
The Wetlands course features an adjoining green on holes 9 and 18, and Feggans’ approach shot rolled over a line to the 18th. The Futures Tour does not allow putting from a wrong green during tournament play as a safety precaution, Wergin said.
If Feggans had made the stroke from the wrong place, she would have incurred a two-stroke penalty.
“At home, you just play it even if you end up on a wrong green,” said Feggans, a rookie who played collegiately at Florida Southern College. “This time, I’m glad I didn’t putt it. It would have cost me two shots.”
Wergin instructed Feggans to take relief off the green. No additional strokes were incurred. Feggans dropped off the green and chipped from the fringe. Her chip rolled down the sloping downhill ninth green and slam-dunked into the hole for an eagle and a share of the first-round lead.
“It was a big turn-around,” said Feggans. “My mom was watching real-time scoring at home on the Website and rang my dad at work and told him I had just made a ‘double birdie’ on the ninth hole. He asked her if she meant an ‘eagle’ and she said, ‘I dunno, it has two circles on the number.’”
After a good ruling and a sweet stroke, indeed it did. And Feggans went on to post her best finish as a professional with a tie for seventh at 211 (-5).