The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Thursday, July 17, 2008

Maguire twins are top seeds for
Irish girls close championship

Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) and sister Lisa finished, unsurprisingly, top of the qualifiers at the Lancome Irish girls close championship at Mullingar Golf Club.
Leona, continuing her strong form that saw Ireland finish eighth at the European girls team championships last week, finished five under par over the 5,946yd parkland terrain.
Twin sister Lisa was closest to the teenage sensation, eight shots back on 77 while Emma O’Driscoll (Ballybunion) and Caroline Murphy (Grange) were a further two shots adrift.
Leona went on to defeat Limerick’s Victoria Bradshaw while Lisa, the second match-play seed, will not complete her round until after 8pm.
Click for an update on the results.
Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell) bt Victoria Morris (Limerick) 8 and 6.
Erin Connolly (Co Armagh) bt Laura Grant (Lisburn) 2 and 1.
Sarah Murray (Co Louth) bt Amy Gaynor (Co Sligo) 1 hole.
Victoria Bradshaw (Bangor) v Sarah Helly (Enniscrone).
Sarah Crowe (Tipperary) v Rachel Chambers (Dunfanaghy).
Niamh O'Connor (Naas/Worplesdon) v Bebainne Jennings (Navan).
Ciara Pender (Ennis) bt Sarah Cunningham (Ennis) 5 and 4.
Agnes Doherty (Ballyliffin) v Caroline Murphy (Grange).
Emma O'Driscoll (Ballybunion) v Jessica Boal (Larne).
Hannah O'Brien (Lahinch) v Jill Pierse (Tipperary).
Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint) v Edel Coyne (Youghal).
Amy Chambers (Dunfanaghy) v Caoimhe Quinn (Dungannon).
Laura McCarthy (Muskerry) v Julie Coyne (Youghal).
Sarah Louise Winter (Carnalea) v Carla Reynolds (Seapoint).
Ciara Sharkey (Enniscorthy) v Julie O'Gara (Roscommon).
Terri Byrne (Coollattin) v Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell).
*Patrice Delaney (Birr) is unavailable for the match-play stages due to an injury.
69 Leona Maguire (Slieve Russell).
77 Lisa Maguire (Slieve Russell).
79 Emma O'Driscoll (Ballybunion), Caroline Murphy (Grange).
80 Sarah Crowe (Tipperary).
81 Patrice Delaney (Birr), Caoimhe Quinn (Dungannon), Laura McCarthy (Muskerry).
82 Sarah Helly (Enniscrone), Sarah Murray (Co Louth), Carla Reynolds (Seapoint).
83 Tara Gribben (Warrenpoint).
84 Bebainne Jennings (Navan), Sarah Cunningham (Ennis).
85 Jill Pierse (Tipperary), Ciara Sharkey (Enniscorthy), Laura Grant (Lisburn).
86 Erin Connolly (Co Armagh), Julie O'Gara (Roscommon).
87 Hannah O'Brien (Lahinch), Ciara Pender (Ennis), Niamh O'Connor (Naas/Worplesdon), Edel Coyne (Youghal).
88 Sarah Louise Winter (Carnalea), Amy Gaynor (Co Sligo), Victoria Bradshaw (Bangor) Julie Coyne (Youghal).
89 Amy Chambers (Dunfanaghy).
90 Rachel Chambers (Dunfanaghy), Agnes Doherty (Ballyliffin), Jessica Boal (Larne), Terri Byrne (Coollattin).
91 Victoria Morris (Limerick).
91 Jenny Hennessy (Ennis), Hannah O'Connor (Loughrea) Jennifer Russell (Belvoir Park), Rebecca Mulholland (Kilkenny).
92 Kelsey Coey (Clandeboye), Carmel O'Connor (Westport), Emma Murphy (Wexford).
93 Aisling Hill (Roscommon), Anna Courtney (St Anne's), Emily McGuiness (Greenore).
94 Lauren Murray (Delgany), Michelle McCarthy (Clonmel).
96 Holly Robinson (Co. Sligo).
97 Emma Dunne (Castlewarden).
98 Katie Liston (Heritage).
99 Paula Grant (Lisburn).
100 Diane Hennessy (Ennis).
102 Sarah Fay (Westmanstown), Ashley Leacy (Enniscorthy), Olwen Jennings (Navan).
103 Shauna Brady (Co.Sligo), Olivia Mehoffey (Tandragee).
104 Sinead Henry-Bezy (Ashbourne).
105 Darcy Carr (Milltown)