The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Wednesday, September 03, 2008


Canadian Alison Murdoch (Victoria Golf Club) will once again travel from Canada to defend her Irish title at the ILGU Senior Women’s Open Stroke-play Championship to be held from September 9 to 11 at Lisburn Golf Club.
Last year, Murdoch pipped Ireland’s Sheena O’Brien Kenney (Grange) by two strokes to claim her third title in four years. Wales’ Vicki Thomas, then in search of back-to-back victories, was a further two shots behind and is once again travelling to compete in this year’s event.
This year’s tournament is as competitive as ever with the majority of the field availing of the extra practice in advance of the following week’s Senior British Open at Hilton Templepatrick in Antrim.
With the full Irish squad from the Senior Women’s European Team Championships in action, other notable entrants hail from Belgium, Canada, France, England, Germany, Sweden, Switzerland, USA and Wales.
The field will play two 18-hole stroke-play rounds on Tuesday and Wednesday with the top 40 (plus ties) qualifying for the final 18 holes on Thursday.
Following the Championship, the Ireland team to play at the Seniors Home Internationals at Little Aston, Birmingham, from 30th September, will be announced.
Positions in the side will be determined by ranking in the Order of Merit and wildcard picks selected by Team Captain Rhona Fanagan (Milltown).

Tee times for the Irish senior women's open amateur stroke-play championship on Tuesday, September 9:

08:30 Pat Bennett (ENG) Jane Gardner (Malone) Pamela Morgan (Lahinch).
08:40 Roma English (Larne) Pauline Bailie (Belvoir Park) Maggie Gray (USA).
08:50 Mai McCann (Narin & Portnoo) Sheila Bodmer O'Keefe (SWI) Joan McVeigh (Belvoir Park).

09:00 Linda Bedry (CAN) Kath Stewart-Moore (Royal Portrush) Helen O'Donoghue (Clonmel).
09:10 Roisin McCann (Downpatrick) Keren Howard (CAN) Elaine Laing (Royal Belfast).
09:20 Alison Murdoch (CAN) Sheena O'Brien Kenney (Grange) Vicki Thomas (WAL).
09:30 Marilyn Henderson (Castlerock) Karen Pultz (CAN) Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire).
09:40 Valerie Hassett (Ennis) Judy Collins (CAN) Marianne Copp (ENG).
09:50 Josephine Kilmartin (Tipperary) Anabel Kane (SCO) Hilary Bradley (Lisburn).

10:00 Maj-Britt Laempe (SWE) Mary Geaney (Killarney) Mary Kavanagh (New Ross).
10:20 Noreen McCluskey (Lisburn) Joceline Breccolini (SWI) Teresa Foley (New Ross).
10:30 Mary Lalor (Roscommon) Ann Conway (New Ross) Maureen Bryson (Lisburn).
10:40 Carol McBratney (Lisburn) Angela Treacy (New Ross) Anna Somers (Cill Dara).
10:50 Judith Henry (Lisburn) Anne Stewart (Belvoir Park) Marie McGrattan (Ardminnan)

11:00 Heather McIvor (Malone) Catherine Carty (Tullamore) Linda Ward (CAN).
11:10 Mairead MacNamara (Woodbrook) Mavis Goodhall (ENG) Carmel Cahill (Hermitage).
11:20 Deborah Jamgochian (USA) Mary McKenna (Donabate) Ivy Steinberg (CAN).
11:30 Rhona Brennan (Bandon) Angela Colm (CAN) Doris Brunner (FRA).
11:40 Mary McGoey (Greenore) Julie Morrison (Belvoir Park) Rhona Fanagan (Milltown).

12:00 Maureen Charleton (Lisburn) Mary Mather (Cill Dara) Margaret Boomer (Lisburn).
12:10 Diane Williams (CAN) Catherine Bird (Nenagh) Sue Pidgeon (ENG).
12:20 Olivia Conroy (Co. Longford) Violet McBride (Belvoir Park) Nano Brennan (Elm Park)12:30 Pauline Walsh (Headfort) Kay McCartan (Greenore) Noreen Granard (Portarlington)12:40 Mary Madden (Ballinasloe) Pamela Williamson (SCO) Phyllis Laschuk (CAN).
12:50 Jean O'Connor (WAL) Eileen MacMullen (Donegal) Ruth Lindley (ENG).

13:00 Holly Horwood (CAN) Helen Jones (Strabane) Marleen Nijhof (BEL).
13:10 Judy Clarke (Royal Portrush) Rosemary McFadden (Whitehead) Margaret Rosbotham (Lisburn).