The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Tuesday, September 09, 2008


Strabane’s Helen Jones, in arguably the better of the atrocious weather conditions, fired an impressive five over par 78 to lead the field by one shot after day one of the Irish Senior Women’s Open Strokeplay Championship at Lisburn Golf Club today.
Jones started strongly in the blustery conditions to turn three over par after nine and steady pars over the return journey, coupled with a birdie on the final hole, saw her cruise to a 78 and sole ownership of the overnight lead.
Diane Williams, in persistent rainfall, dropped shots over the opening stretch to turn four over par but back to back birdies on eleven and twelve saw her sign for a 79 to lie just one shot behind.
Canadian Phyllis Laschuk was next best on 81 while 2006 Champion Vicki Thomas, who has represented Wales internationally at all levels, opened with four steady pars in the worst of the morning weather and battled bravely to turn just four over par.
As conditions steadily worsened, she dropped five more strokes on the inward nine and signed for a highly creditable 82 to be well in the hunt for her second title in three years.Canada’s Ivy Steinberg birdied the second and dropped just two strokes over the final six holes to sign for an impressive 83, a score matched by country mate Keren Pultz playing later in the day.
Canadian Holly Horwood signed for a fine 84, as did Malone’s Jane Gardner, again in trying circumstances. After a slow start, Gardner recorded pars on the ninth, tenth and a birdie on eleven saw lie just five shots off overnight leader Williams.
Defending Champion Alison Murdoch (Canada) found the Irish wintry conditions truely challenging and following a triple bogey on the fourth and double on five, steadied the ship in deteriorating conditions to return 87 along with Irish Close Champion Sheena O’Brien Kenney (Grange).
Canada lead the team event by one shot from Ireland with Wales a further six shots back.
The field will play a second 18 hole strokeplay round on Wednesday and the top 40 (plus ties) will qualify for the final 18 holes on Thursday.
Par 73 CSS 77 reduction only
78 Helen Jones (Strabane)
79 Diane Williams (CAN)
81 Phyllis Laschuk (CAN)
82 Vicki Thomas (WAL)
83 Keren Pultz (CAN) Ivy Steinberg (CAN)
84 Holly Horwood (CAN) Jane Gardner (Malone)
85 Pamela Williamson (SCO)
86 Julie Morrison (Belvoir Park)
87 Mary Madden (Ballinasloe) Pauline Walsh (Headfort) Sue Pidgeon (ENG) Deborah Jamgochian (USA) Alison Murdoch (CAN) Linda Bedry (CAN) Sheena O'Brien Kenney (Grange)
88 Marleen Nijhof (BEL) Niamh Giblin (Dun Laoghaire)
89 Cornelia Fischer (GER) Eileen MacMullen (Donegal) Jean O'Connor (WAL) Olivia Conroy (Co. Longford) Ruth Lindley (ENG) Violet McBride (Belvoir Park) Mairead MacNamara (Woodbrook) Mary Kavanagh (New Ross)
90 Angela Colm (CAN) Rhona Brennan (Bandon) Marilyn Henderson (Castlerock)
91 Carmel Cahill (Hermitage) Catherine Carty (Tullamore) Maj-Britt Laempe (SWE) Mary Geaney (Killarney) Judy Collins (CAN) Maggie Gray (USA) Pauline Bailie (Belvoir Park)
92 Helen O'Donoghue (Clonmel)
93 Margaret Boomer (Lisburn) Maureen Charleton (Lisburn) Rosemary McFadden (Whitehead) Mary McKenna (Donabate) Valerie Hassett (Ennis)
94 Kay McCartan (Greenore) Nano Brennan (Elm Park) Noreen Granard (Portarlington) Mavis Goodhall (ENG) Linda Ward (CAN) Marianne Copp (ENG) Pat Bennett (ENG) Roma English (Larne)
95 Judith Henry (Lisburn) Joan McVeigh (Belvoir Park) Keren Howard (CAN) Pamela Morgan (Lahinch) Roisin McCann (Downpatrick)
96 Mary McGoey (Greenore) Carol McBratney (Lisburn) Noreen McCluskey (Lisburn) Elaine Laing (Royal Belfast)
97 Kath Stewart-Moore (Royal Portrush)
98 Judy Clarke (Royal Portrush) Doris Brunner (SWI)
99 Ann Conway (New Ross) Anna Somers (Cill Dara) Carol Kinsella (Waterford) Maureen Bryson (Lisburn)
100 Angela Treacy (New Ross)
101 Mai McCann (Narin & Portnoo)
102 Anne Stewart (Belvoir Park) Mary Lalor (Roscommon) Sheila Bodmer O'Keefe (SWI)
103 Josephine Kilmartin (Tipperary)
105 Joceline Breccolini (SWI)
107 Hilary Bradley (Lisburn)
109 Mary Mather (Cill Dara)
112 Marie McGrattan (Ardminnan)
NR Margaret Rosbotham (Lisburn)

TEAM EVENT (2 scores from 3 to count)
164 CANADA-A Holly Horwood [84] Phylis Laschuk 81 Keren Pultz 83
165 IRELAND-A Helen Jones 78 Mary Madden 87 Sheena O'Brien Kenney [87]
171 WALES Jean O'Connor 89 Vicki Thomas 82
174 CANADA-B Linda Bedry 87 Angela Colm [90] Alison Murdock 87
178 USA Maggie Gray 91 Deborah Jamgochian 87
181 ENGLAND-A Mavis Goodhall 94 Sue Pidgeon 87
183 IRELAND-B Valerie Hassett 93 Marilyn Henderson 90 Mary McKenna [93]
183 ENGLAND-B Pat Bennett 94 Marianne Copp [94] Ruth Lindley 89
200 SWITZERLAND Jocelyn Breccolini [105] Doris Brunner 98 Sheila Bodmer O'Keefe 102