The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Wednesday, October 08, 2008

Kelsey pulls out of Sunday's Champion
of Champions' tournament

Scottish Under-21 champion Kelsey MacDonald (Nairn Dunbar) has withdrawn from the ever-decreasing field for Sunday's Scottish Ladies Golfing Association Champion of Champions tournament over the Glasgow Gailes links, Ayrshire.
The maximum field could have been 28 but there will be only 15 competitors on Sunday.
There are a number of reasons why the figure of 28 could not be reached such as the Scottish Under-16 open girls' champion was an Italian, the Helen Holm Scottish stroke-play title winner came from France and Megan Briggs qualified both as Renfrewshire champion and East of Scotland title winner.
Roseanne Niven (Crieff) and Kylie Walker (Buchanan Castle) might have played if they had not been in Australia taking part in the Espirito Santo Trophy world championship this week.
Having said that, Roseanne would have been in California at university but for the trip to Australia so there was no way she was ever going to be able to take her place in the Champion of Champions' field as winner of the British stroke-play championship.
Others, like Kelsey MacDonald, are unavailable due to genuine other commitments, domestic and otherwise. Missing for one reason or another are Scottish champion Michele Thomson (McDonald Ellon), Fife champion Fiona Hastie (St Regulus), Stirling & Clackmannan champion Alison Davidson (Stirling), Borders champion Judith Anderson (Hawick) and Aberdeenshire champion Donna Pocock (Murcar Links).
So what's the answer? Play the tournament at the start of the following season perhaps? The Scottish men's champion of champions tournament is staged at Leven in early April.
Sunday's draw at Glasgow Gailes is (championship won in brackets):
11.30 Ruth Carroll (East Lothian), Lindsey Kirkwood (Dumfries-shire).
11.40 Rachael Livingstone (Midlothian), Alexandra Bushby (North of Scotland).
11.50 Louise Kenney (East of Scotland, Rebecca Wilson (Angus).
12.00 Lorna Bennett (Senior match-play), Susan Wood (Lanarkshire), Morag MacPherson (Ayrshire).
12.10 Laura Walker (Perth & Kinross), Fona De Vries (Veterans), Cara Gruber (Northern Counties).
12.20 Carly Booth (Scottish girls), Megan Briggs (Renfrewshire), Mary Smith (Senior stroke-play).

Labels: ,