The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Catriona Matthew becomes a vice-president of the SLGA

The Scottish Ladies Golfing Association is delighted to announce that Catriona Matthew - the first Scot to win a women's major championship - has accepted an invitation to become a vice-president of the association from 2010.
Emma Wilson has been named as the new president, taking over from Ethel Jack, who is retiring after three years in the post.
A three-time Scottish amateur champion and three-time Curtis Cup player, Matthew is Scotland's most successful ever woman professional golfer. She has won seven tournaments in an outstanding career, including the highlight of a first major at the Ricoh Women's British Open at Royal Lytham & St Annes in August.
"I was delighted to accept the post of of vice-president," said 40-year-old Matthew. "It is always special to gain recognition in Scotland and, hopefully, I can help to generate more interest in girls' and women's golf.
"I know that programmes set up by the SLGA and clubgolfer have done a great deal over recent years to encourage more girls to take up the game and I'll be delighted to become involved in some way."
Shona Malcolm, SLGA chairman, warmly welcomed Matthew's appointment. "We are delighted that Catriona has accepted," she commented. "Both as an amateur and professional, she has achieved so much in the game and is respected all over the world.
"By taking on the role, it shows her loyalty and commitment to the game in Scotland and she will be a terrific ambassador for golf."
Matthew, a mother to Katie (3) and Sophie (seven months), will mostly be playing on the US-based LPGA Tour in 2010 and she also hopes to compete as often as possible on the Ladies' European Tour.
Brought up in North Berwick, Matthew began her golfing career at the age of five, playing on the town's local children's course.
Matthew will be one of 13 SLGA vice-presidents. The others are: Marigold Speir, Rosemary Dykes, Jean Cameron, Pat Cairns Smith, Joan Lawrence MBE, Joyce Cooper, Ethel Jack, Wendy Cameron, Belle Robertson MBE, Margo Bauer, Mary Greig and Nancy Chisholm MBE.