The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Friday, January 15, 2010

Annual meeting at Solihull

EGWA's year of "progress, success and consolidation"

Women golfers defied the wintry weather which has gripped the country to attend the annual meeting of the English Women’s Golf Association (EWGA).
Skirts and high heels were swapped for warm trousers and sensible walking shoes as club, county and regional representatives made their way to the National Motor Cycle Museum at Solihull.
Travel difficulties inevitably meant that attendance was down but enough counties were represented to make sure it was business as usual.
The meeting celebrated the achievements of the past year and heard from management board chairman Sue Whittaker that 2009 had been a “year of progress, success and consolidation.”
Members approved the appointment of four non-executive directors: Andrew Kean, Chrissie Owens, Sylvia Perrins and Bill Richards. They also approved proposals for the restructuring of the Ladies Golf Union (LGU) to modernise its business operations; and they agreed a series of amendments to the EWGA Articles of Association.
Elizabeth Earnshaw completed her two-year term as EWGA president and became the 2010 chairman of the operational board, which runs the association’s core golfing activities. Four new regional chairmen were also appointed: Margaret Gliddon for the South West; Judi Walker for the East; Julie Wright for Midlands North and Carol Slater for the North.
The new EWGA president is Lancashire’s Ann Irvin, a former Curtis Cup player, who was one of the top amateurs of her generation. Most recently she has been an England and GB&I selector.
The EWGA order of merit trophies – sponsored by the golf holiday company Lorrin Golf – were also presented to representatives of the winners, who are both currently playing in the USA.
English champion Charlie Douglass (Brocket Hall) is the 2009 order of merit winner, while English girls’ champion Holly Clyburn (Woodhall Spa) topped the junior table.
The annual reports of the EWGA management and operational boards may be viewed on the website:
Lyndsey Hewison
Press & PR Officer