The site for
golf news
you can't find
anywhere else!
Webmaster: Gillian Kirkwood
Contributing Editor: Colin Farquharson

Saturday, January 17, 2009

Anne Wallace is new president of

Irish Ladies Golf Union

At the 115th I.L.G.U. Annual General Meeting at Moran’s Hotel, Naas Road today, Anne Wallace took over the reins of the Presidency from Sligo native Ann Bradshaw following her two-year term.
Anne, who plays her golf at Royal Portrush and City of Derry, was Ireland’s fourth LGU Chairman in 2003 having spent over 20 years in the administration of golf. She was elected to the Northern District in 1983 where she served as Chairman 1985-86. Since then, she has served three separate three-year spells on ILGU Council and is a qualified R&A Rules Official.
“We have made great strides in strengthening the numbers of ladies playing golf in Ireland recently and I am pleased to say there are many initiatives afoot to boost the numbers playing at both adult and junior level nationwide,” she commented.
Anne lives in Londonderry with her husband Albert and has two sons and three grandchildren.
Marjorie McCorduck (Roscrea) will assume the role of President-Elect with her term of office starting in 2011.
Council members Roma English (Larne), Maura Joyce (Ballinrobe), Maire McMahon (Southern), Deirdre Bolger (Midland) and Nicky Robinson (Eastern) retired following their three-year terms.
Kathryn Reilly (Athenry) joined Council as LGU delegate replacing Brigid McCaw (Royal Co. Down Ladies) who takes up the reins of LGU Chairman next week.
The Portmarnock Hotel & Golf Links/Irish Independent Lady Golfer of the Month Awards were presented to Frankie Forest (May), Coleen Dorman (June), Maura Kelly (July), Jean Molony (August) and Valerie Kiely (September) while “Sharing Point,” a charitable body dedicated to supporting adults suffering from addiction, received a cheque for €10,000 raised at the ILGU three-ball team events held nationwide in 2008.
Tara Delaney (Carlow), Sarah Louise Winter (Carnalea) and Sheena McElroy (Grange) were presented with the Women's, Girls' and Seniors' Order of Merit Trophies following their table-topping performances in 2008.